Follow

Data Verification / Data Sharing Feature

DirectorySpot allows a school to turn on the "Data Sharing" Feature which allows users to decide if they want to "share" their directory information with other users or "hide" it.   If you enable this feature, then the default will be to hide ALL entries until each user goes in and clicks "share."

1.  Enable "Edit your own data" - Go to Manage Users / Grant Edit Access and follow the instructions.    Or see help desk article for more details on how to do this.   This will enable your users to make changes to their record.

2. Enable Data Sharing - Go to Manage Directory / Settings.

Screenshot_2020-05-05_18.12.03.png

3.  Click the box to allow users to share or hide their data.   The default will be that all records are hidden.  You can click the button for "Share all data" if you want to make all data shared but then each person could go in and hide their own data.   Click "Save."

Screenshot_2020-05-05_18.15.21.png

4.  You will get a message that your settings have been updated.   If you have hidden all data, then each user will now need to go in and "share" their record.   As a user, log in and go to Directory/Family Search.   Find your own record and double click to get the edit screens.   Here they can click "Share Data" to make their record visible.  Or they can make edits and then click "Share Data."    All data is either hidden or shared.   

Screenshot_at_Aug_17_13-11-50.png

 

 

 

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk